History of Our School
A Rich History
Thomlinson Junior School first opened its doors almost 200 years ago. Founded in 1820 by The National Society, a charitable Church of England foundation, it was originally housed in the National School building that still stands in the High Street. It moved to its present home in the splendid old Nelson Thomlinson Grammar School buildings, Westmorland House, in 1968.
The original Georgian part of Westmorland House, which houses the main entrance, reception, offices and stairs, was built as a private home in 1799. It was first extended in 1815, when it became the town’s Nelson Thomlinson Grammar School, named after the local philanthropic benefactor who also gave his name to the Junior’s School.
It is still possible to admire the original Throstle’s Nest motif etched into the windows that later went on to become the emblem of the school and the town of Wigton as a whole. In the later part of the 19th Century the building was further enlarged to accommodate grammar girls, as well as boys; remaining in use as the town’s amalgamated Grammar School until 1952.
Whilst they retain their unique, welcoming period character, the interior of our splendid old buildings, with their high ceilings, large, airy windows and magnificent galleried hall, were completely renewed in 1967 prior to the Junior School moving into the premises. Since then, extensive further improvements have been made to the excellent teaching spaces, reflecting the modern advances in teaching styles and technology.